Impressionism vs All Else

I have seen Impressionistic works in books, online and on television before but they never really appealed to me. I like the form and style of the Italian Renaissance with work such as the Sistine Chapel Ceiling by Michelangelo. Cezanne is a Post-Impressionist I most identified with because he liked form unlike Impressionists. He used color as lines such as in Bather (1885-1887). I am not sure where he painted the Bather but I think it was at his home in Aix-en-Provence in the south of France. This piece has a sense of depth because he painted darker lines for the form of the person and then went back to rework the outside of these lines to give the man a silhouetted look.

I prefer a piece of work that has a story attached to it such as Peter Paul Ruben’s The Head of Medusa (1618) which invokes intrigue and further study. Impressionist’s attempts at capturing an insignificant moment in time with no meaning do not work for me. Post-Impressionists’ attempts at finding meaning is better but I still prefer the Baroque and Italian Renaissance art.

About InupiaqMartha

I am Martha White.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Impressionism vs All Else

  1. atbaer says:

    You give excellent reasons as to why you do not care for Impressionism compared to other works of art. I am also drawn to pieces of art that have a good story attached to them as you are. Are you sure there are no examples of Impressionism art that might have a good story attached? That could help you enjoy the time period if you desired such a thing. Your blog had everything necessary in it, with the exception of having the pieces of art done in Italics.

Leave a Reply

